Your Subtitle text

Thunder Over Flagstaff Fly-In proudly supports EAA Chapter 856 and their efforts to send young aviators to the EAA Air Academy Camp.

Local Chapter 856 of the Experimental Aviation Association is seeking candidates to send to the Air Academy held each summer in Oshkosh, WI.  The Academy consists of a week of exposure to aviation topics and is held at the site of Oshkosh fly-in, aviation's largest event.  This event occurs in late July every year.  Youths from ages 14-18 may apply.  More details on the event may be found at, including session schedules and activities.  Chapter sponsorship includes transportation and camp fees. There is no cost to the successful applicant (s).

Application for the sponsorship begins with an essay from the applicant explaining why he or she would like to attend Air Academy.  The essay must be mailed or delivered to Barney Helmick, Manager of Flagstaff Airport, at 211 W. Aspen Ave., Flagstaff, AZ 86001.  Deadline for submissions for 2018 Air Academy is March 2, 2018.  There is no minimum or maximum length for the essay.

Previous awardees are not eligible.  Age at the start of camp determines which camp is attended.

EAA Basic Air Academy
Ages 14 - 15
The EAA Basic Air Academy is the next exciting step through the world of aviation. Each "hands-on" activity is developed for the intermediate student during a classroom and media presentation, specialized laboratory activities and aviation-related demonstrations.


EAA Advanced Air Academy (FULL)
Ages 16 - 18
The EAA Advanced Air Academy provides an atmosphere where mature students become totally immersed in the world of flight. Ground instruction and introductory recreation flight experiences highlight this action-packed camp. It combines "in-the-air" and "on-the-ground" hands-on activities. The EAA Advanced Air Academy also includes full participation (access to forums, flight-line and all associated activities) in EAA AirVenture Oshkosh - the world's premier aviation event!

Letters from the 2014 EAA Chapter 856
Air Academy recipients.

Canos Chavez
Andrew Roxas-Powers

Letters from the 2013 EAA Chapter 856
Air Academy recipients.

Lillian Roxas-Powers
Hayden Ess Page 1
Hayden Ess Page 2

Letters from the 2012 EAA Chapter 856
Air Academy recipients.

Austin Shehan Page 1
Austin Shehan Page 2
Tailor Begay
Nikaila Glassy